Fitness for Nerds: Goblet of Fire Squats

Last week I managed: Step class, Step class again, Free weights session (as my goal is to work out 4-5 times per week, this was a minor fail).

I usually try to do strength training sessions more often than I have recently. I want to be stronger, because let’s face it, I’m a weakling. Plus, I’ve found that I burn more calories when I’m doing more than just crazy cardio sessions.

My absolute favorite strength training exercise is the Goblet of Fire Squat. Okay, so it’s actually called the goblet squat by most people (everyone other than me), but I like to think of it as the Goblet of Fire Squat.

gobletoffire

That thing looks like it’d be pretty heavy, doesn’t it? Well, it is. Plus, it makes your legs feel as if they’re on fire, so…it’s only fitting.

For this post, I considered donning a Gryffindor scarf and asking someone to photograph me demonstrating one of these things, but then I figured that no one wants to see me do a squat. So, instead, I found this handy photo online of a girl who looks much more composed than I do when I exercise.

gobletsquats

Basically, you hold a dumbbell like a goblet and you squat down as low as you possibly can. At the moment, I use a 16 kg (35 pound) dumbbell. It’s pretty doable. I could probably go a bit heavier, but I’d struggle. I usually do 3 sets of 10, and I always feel it the next day.

I love it because it’s a great alternative to the back squat (I hate them, I really do), but they’d also be great as an addition to back squats because you’re going to be working your muscles differently. Just be careful that you don’t drop your name into the goblet. Otherwise, you might have to face some dragons and a Voldemort cemetery situation.

 

Leave a Reply

